Virginia Tech Transportation Institute Highlights

Competencies

VTTI researcher with teenager drivers as part of the Sharing the Road program
Community Engagement

Inquiries:
Myra Blanco | mblanco@vtti.vt.edu

Connected vehicle on I-66
Connected Corridors

Inquiries:
Mike Mollenhauer | mmollenhauer@vtti.vt.edu

Crash SLED Lab
Crashworthiness

Inquiries:
Warren Hardy | whardy@vt.edu

Smart Roads bridge
Electric Vehicles

Inquiries:
Luke Neurauter | lneurauter@vtti.vt.edu

Simulation
Simulation

Inquiries:
Kevin Kefauver | kkefauver@gcaps.net

Photo from a demonstration on the Surface Street expansion
Vulnerable Road Users

Inquiries:
Charlie Klauer | cklauer@vtti.vt.edu

Research Highlights

Blacksburg Transit bus
COVID Transit Barrier

Inquiries:
Andrew Krum | akrum@vtti.vt.edu

Smart Roads bridge
VTTI Impact

Inquiries:
Myra Blanco | mblanco@vtti.vt.edu

Work zone
Work Zone of the Future

Inquiries:
Mike Mollenhauer | mmollenhauer@vtti.vt.edu

VTTI Divisions

Aerial view of highway

Data & Analytics

Conducts data-driven research that develops and employs sophisticated algorithms, machine learning and statistical methods, innovative data fusion, and visualization techniques to advance transportation.

Trucks on highway

Infrastructure, Freight & Mobility

Focuses on conducting research to develop and help with early implementation of safe, sustainable transportation improvement.

VTTI automated shuttle

Technology Development & Deployment

Leads research aspects involving the development of mechanical and electrical systems, manages VTTI research facilities, and assists with high performance computing resources needs.

VTTI researchers looking at a vehicle

Vehicle, Driver, & Safety Systems

Responsible for idealizing, designing, developing, and evaluating solutions to complex transportation challenges.